A lovely day out with Nicky

No after my last post I didn’t take up the if you can’t beat them with a large stick join them approach and get my self a man shaped piece of arm meat or the backpack carrying multi use travel pillow as they seem to be known. I met Nicky, my new favourite tuk tuk driver ever in the world.

Nicky of Nicky Battambang tours

Nicky of Nicky Battambang tours

Temples around Battambang

Temples around Battambang

Banan temple, atop of a thousand very tiring steps when hungover.

Banan temple, atop of a thousand very tiring steps when hungover.

The killing caves just out of Battambang

The killing caves just out of Battambang

Nicky is brilliant, he speaks amazing English and is so knowledgable about all things Cambodia.
I visited the killing caves of Battambang, craft villages, a horrible crocodile farm and some of Battambangs temples. Wonderful stop for my last couple of days in Cambodia before I boarded a very boring and lengthy minibus ride back to Bangkok to fly home in time for Christmas with the family.

I did enjoy Battambang but apart from Nicky, there wasn’t much to reccomend it in particular. It was a bit soulless and lacked the brilliant atmosphere I found in most other cities in Cambodia.

if you go to Battambang, find Nicky Tuk Tuk Battambang on Facebook and make sure you meet him. I really couldn’t reccomend him enough.

The five golden monks at the top of the mountain near the killing caves.

The five golden monks at the top of the mountain near the killing caves.

Bats streaming out of the bat cave.

Bats streaming out of the bat cave.

2 responses to “A lovely day out with Nicky

  1. It’s interesting to read if your experience- much of my family lives in Battambang and therefore it’s one of my fav cities-it has the ol Skool French colonial feel in the town center, while the surrounding homes retain their countryside feel. But so much of a place is dependent on the people you encounter so if you ever visit again I hope you make new friends there to show you a warmer side of battambang.

    Like

Leave a Reply

