The end of my €50 challenge. 

So I’m just going to preface this post with some honesty. I’ve failed in my €50 euro challenge. Well, I haven’t totally failed, I travelled for nearly two and a half months, saw Venice, Sicily, Verona, Marseilles, Geneva, Seville, climbed in the Dolomites, swam in the pure blue waters of the Adriatic Sea, dined on delicacies galore in Sicily and all over, danced in the streets, learned to bake, marvelled at gothic, Byzantine, moorish and Roman architecture, boated on lake Geneva, drank grappa and fresh coffee, lazed in the sun, had beers on the beach at sunset, visited catacombs, castles, amphitheatres and cathedrals and met some wonderful people along the way. I now find myself in Spain, with two weeks left and none of my allotted money remaining. It’s due to a few reasons, having to pay a few extra flights to spend time with friends and family, sacrificing low cost long travel time transport for an extra day here and there, having to book a different flight home when some plans changed and honestly a penchant for delicious and none scrimp friendly cocktails. 

  
I’m not truly considering it a failure though. I’ve still surprised myself with how little money I can live on. Proved that I don’t need to be always buying things to enjoy an experience and I think I’ve appreciated the things I have spent money on far more than I would have. And I still believe that I could of survived these last three weeks wih minimal money. I could have done it but I would have sacrificed the last week I’ve spent with my sister which has been wonderful and well overdue. I don’t regret that choice at all. 

So while I’m going to be spending my next couple of weeks with a little extra money than I had originally planned, I’m not going to be going crazy with it but I am going enjoy my last few weeks here in Spain. I’ve already proved to myself that I can have a great time without splashing the cash so I’m going to try and carry on in a similarly frugal vein. 

After all, whatever money I don’t spend now I can put towards my next adventure. 

  
I left the UK with €50 and survived for two and a half months including my flight home. I’m pretty happy with that. And now, for sangria!!!!

Leave a Reply

